"Unglutenated" is not found in any dictionary that I know of, but calling a certain product GF would be a mistake.
One particular company is offering a GF wholeseller wheat starch, from which gluten has been rinsed away, possibly to sell as its' own stand-alone product. The product apparently only contains gluten to 20 ppm (Parts Per Million). In other words, still dangerous territory.
WHAT IS WHEAT STARCH
Wheat starch is produced from wheat four by removing the proteins including gluten. Years ago it was believed that all the protein could be removed, It is now recognised that it is technically impossible to remove all traces of protein and a small amount remains.
There are two types of wheat starch:
Commercial wheat starch which is not pure enough to be suitable for Coeliacs.
Specially-manufactured wheat starch which complies with the lntemational Gluten-free Standard (Codex Ahmentarius) and can safely be included in the gluten-free diet.
Wheat starch of this purity is expensive and it is most commonly used in products specially-manufactured for Coeliacs, to provide palatable and acceptable bread and flour substitutes.
Source: Diet and Nutrition: Gluten
Oh, and to vegan friends: Did you know? Pure gluten can be mixed with water, soy sauce and molasses to create a meat substitute. Seitan. You're welcome! Happy eating!
|Great Balls of Gluten! Appetizing, no?|